Assault and Battery Defense in Kalamazoo & Grand Rapids
In Michigan, assault and battery is a crime that is taken seriously and aggressively prosecuted. If convicted of assault and battery, you could be sentenced to 93 days in jail and fined up to $500. Even after you have served your time and paid your debt, you will be haunted by the specter of having a violent crime on your criminal record. Aggravated assault is an even stiffer penalty. And assault with a dangerous weapon is a felony.
In order to protect your rights, your job prospects and your personal reputation, it is important to have the right criminal defense representation. At Willis Law, we provide a skilled defense against assault and battery charges for our clients in West Michigan.
Assault and Battery Defense Attorneys
Assault is an intentional act that causes someone to fear imminent harm, such as unwanted contact. This does not require actual physical contact; someone can be charged with assault as long as he or she had the intent to assault the victim. Battery, on the other hand, is intentional physical contact that causes bodily harm or is otherwise considered to be offensive. Battery can be charged for unwanted contact, even if it did not result in physical harm to the defendant.
If the assault or battery is against someone with whom you are dating or who is a member of your family, it can result in domestic violence charges. Whether you are charged with felonious assault or domestic violence, we will aggressively pursue an outcome that protects your record so you can move on with your life.
Aggravated Assault Defense
Aggravated assault charges are brought when a person allegedly attempts to cause serious bodily injury to another person, either through recklessness or with the use of a deadly weapon. The penalties for an aggravated assault conviction are quite severe, which is why it is so important to have a knowledgeable team of defense attorneys on your side. Prosecutors might seek felony charges in some instances, including when a person is believed to have committed assault with the intent to murder or cause other great bodily harm.
The penalties for an aggravated assault conviction — a misdemeanor — include up to a year in prison and up to a $1,000 fine. The penalties could increase if you have a history of violent behavior or if you have previous crimes on your criminal record.
Contact a Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney
To learn more about how our experienced negotiators and skilled trial lawyers can help protect your interests, contact us today for a free initial consultation. We have office locations in Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids and Paw Paw.