Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License in Michigan
Traffic Violation Lawyers in Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids & Paw Paw
People tend to take their driver's license for granted until they no longer have it. Getting life's daily errands and obligations suddenly becomes much more difficult without a driver's license, which often leads to people driving without a license and hoping not to get caught. If you have been cited for driving with a suspended or revoked license, it is important to speak to an experienced Kalamazoo criminal defense lawyer.
At Willis Law, we can explain your rights and inform you of all available defense options if you have been ticketed for driving while suspended or driving while revoked. We will be your strongest advocate, guiding you to the best possible outcome no matter how difficult your situation may seem now.
License Violations in Michigan
A single speeding infraction might not seem like a big deal at first, but over time violations can add up to big consequences down the road. Accumulated traffic offenses can eventually lead to suspension or revocation, which could lead to charges for driving with a suspended license. This results in a wide range of new legal challenges that must be addressed, particularly if you rely upon your license as part of your job (commercial drivers).
Our lawyers understand the importance of challenging any and all traffic violations. There is no risk in doing so, especially when you consider the long-term impact to which additional violations could have.
Penalties for Driving With License Suspended (DWLS)
If caught driving with a suspended, revoked or denied license, a driver could be punished with a fine of up to $500 and/or 93 days in jail. Subsequent offenses can carry even harsher penalties such as:
- $1,000 fine and/or one year in jail for a second offense
- Additional suspension, confiscation of license plates, 90 to 180 days of vehicle immobilization for a third or fourth offense
- Additional suspension, license plate confiscation, one to three years of vehicle immobilization for a fifth offense
Drivers will also be ordered to pay a $500 driver responsibility fee for two consecutive years as a result of any DWLS offense.
Aggressive Defense Against DWLS Charge
A conviction could mean the loss of your freedom and potentially your livelihood. This requires an aggressive defense aimed at allowing you to put this troubled time behind you so you can rebuild your life and get your driver's license back.
We will pursue all options for minimizing your exposure to harsh penalties and points on your driver's license, including negotiating with prosecutors to reduce charges, and pleading guilty to lesser charges in order to avoid jail time. We will inform you of all your options and fight for the best available outcome.
Contact Willis Law
Before we can begin working to have your license restored, we must clear up the situation you are currently faced with after being ticketed for DWLS. The first step is to contact us for a free consultation with an attorney. We have office locations in Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids and Paw Paw.