Michigan Concealed Weapon Attorney
Carrying a concealed weapon (CCW) and concealed pistol license (CPL) is a matter that law enforcement takes very seriously. Police often make arrests and take action first, and ask questions later, all in the name of public safety. However, in some cases, an individual's civil rights are violated when accusations of gun crimes are leveled and criminal charges are filed.
If you are facing any type of charges pertaining to a firearm, turn to the lawyers at Willis Law. Handling cases for clients throughout western Michigan, our experienced firm stands up for the rights of clients in Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Paw Paw and all of the surrounding areas. Our Kalamazoo attorneys have extensive knowledge of the gun laws in Michigan, as well as federal firearm regulations, and we can ensure that you fully understand how any laws, rules and regulations may apply to your situation.
Do not hesitate to enlist legal counsel if you are facing gun and firearm charges. Contact us online or call our toll-free number, (888) 461-7744, for a free initial consultation. If you need our help right away after hours, call our 24-hour line at 888-635-3824.
Second Amendment Violations
As CCW and CPL holders, we thoroughly understand your rights and obligations according to the U.S. Constitution and Michigan's laws. Any violations of your Second Amendment rights, the right to bear arms, can be used on your behalf during the criminal proceedings.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon While Under the Influence
Under Michigan law, it is illegal for a person to carry a concealed weapon while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a combination of both. By holding a CCW and CPL permit, a person who has accepted a concealed weapon license gives his or her implied consent to comply with this requirement.
If an individual has been shown to have been under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a combination of both and was carrying a concealed license, the consequences can include:
- Misdemeanor charge (up to 93 days in jail and/or a $100 maximum fine)
- State civil infraction (up to $100 maximum fine)
- Concealed license may be permanently revoked, suspended for up to three years or suspended for up to one year, depending on the specifics of the situation
The type of consequences depends on the level of alcohol or drug intoxication at the time of arrest.
Contact a Kalamazoo Gun Crime Attorney for a Free Initial Consultation
To arrange a free initial consultation about your gun permit or firearm charge case, please contact us by email, call (888) 461-7744. From offices in Kalamazoo, Paw Paw and Grand Rapids, our lawyers represent gun owners and license holders throughout western Michigan. We offer discounts to students, seniors and members of the military.